Shaires Holdings closes $9.2M indirect Stripe purchase at $159B valuation, ~$63/share
- Raised
- $9M
- Valuation
- $159B
- Place in VP50
- #6
- Sources
- 2
What happened
AIM-listed Shaires Holdings announced on September 1, 2026 that it had closed a US$9.2 million investment in Stripe, held indirectly through a special purpose vehicle. The company said the stake is an indirect interest of approximately 0.006% in Stripe's equity, acquired at Stripe's US$159 billion February 2026 tender valuation, equivalent to about US$63 per share. The announcement does not state an exact completion date.
The closing followed an August 13 announcement of an option for up to US$9.3 million of Stripe exposure under an agreement with Rizvi Traverse. That announcement said the vehicle is a Delaware special purpose vehicle managed by Rizvi Traverse, which is controlled by Suhail Rizvi, Shaires' Executive Chairman. The deal was therefore treated as a related party transaction under AIM Rule 13. Rizvi Traverse was to receive no economic benefit and waived customary carried interest and fees, and Shaires has no voting rights in Stripe. Mr Rizvi did not take part in the board's consideration. Both documents are company announcements; no statement from Stripe is cited.
Key points
- Shaires closed a US$9.2M indirect investment in Stripe, announced Sep 1.1
- The stake is approximately 0.006% of Stripe's equity.12
- Priced at Stripe's US$159B February 2026 tender valuation, about US$63 per share.12
- An Aug 13 option covered up to US$9.3M, with exercise expected on or before Aug 31.2
- Related party transaction under AIM Rule 13: Rizvi Traverse is controlled by Shaires' Executive Chairman.2
Why it matters
The price matches Stripe's February 2026 tender valuation, so the trade reuses an existing mark rather than setting a new one.
Shaires holds its exposure through special purpose vehicles and has no voting rights in Stripe. This is one way outside investors obtain exposure without holding shares directly.
At about 0.006% of equity and with a counterparty linked to the buyer's chairman, the trade is a limited signal of secondary demand at the tender level.
In context
| Round | Date | Post-money valuation | Raised | Led by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Series D | Nov 25, 2016 | $9.2B | $150M | CapitalG and General Catalyst |
| Series F | Jan 29, 2019 | $23B | $100M | Unknown |
| Series G extension | Apr 16, 2020 | $36B | $600M | Unknown |
| Series H | Mar 14, 2021 | $95B | $600M | Unknown |
| Series I | Mar 15, 2023 | $50B | $6.5B | Unknown |
Updated
Fact-check
- Shaires Holdings announced on September 1, 2026 that it closed a US$9.2 million investment in Stripe.Confirmed by [1] Shaires Holdings RNS dated 1 September 2026, which reports the US$9.2 million investment; it does not state an exact completion date.Verified
- The investment is an indirect interest of approximately 0.006% in Stripe's equity.Confirmed by [1] and [2], both Shaires announcements, which state an indirect interest of approximately 0.006%.Verified
- The exposure was priced at Stripe's US$159 billion February 2026 tender valuation, about US$63 per share.Confirmed by [1], which says the exposure was acquired at the US$159 billion February 2026 tender valuation, and [2], which gives the same valuation and approximately US$63 per share.Verified
- On August 13, 2026 Shaires announced an option for up to US$9.3 million of Stripe exposure under an agreement with Rizvi Traverse.Confirmed by [2] Shaires Holdings RNS dated 13 August 2026, which describes the option and expects exercise on or before 31 August 2026.Verified
- The deal is a related party transaction under AIM Rule 13; Rizvi Traverse is controlled by Executive Chairman Suhail Rizvi and waived carried interest and fees.Confirmed by [2] Shaires Holdings RNS: related party under AIM Rule 13, Rizvi Traverse controlled by Mr Rizvi, no economic benefit to it, fees and carry waived.Verified
Sources
- [1]Shaires Holdings (RNS) (opens in a new tab)Closing of Investments in Anthropic and StripeThe Stripe exposure was acquired at its US$159 billion February 2026 tender valuation
- [2]Shaires Holdings (RNS) (opens in a new tab)Investment in Anthropic, Stripe and Figure AIMr Rizvi did not participate in the Board's consideration of the transaction.
